Florida Statute 83.49 describes in detail the procedures when a security deposit is given to a Landlord in Florida for performance of a lease agreement. In Florida, the Landlord must (1) hold the total amount of the security deposit in a separate non-interest (or interest) bearing account in a Florida bank for the benefit of the Tenant(s) but the Landlord may not comingle any funds; or (2) post a surety bond. Further, the Landlord, in the written lease agreement or within 30 days of receiving the security deposit, given written notice to the Tenant which includes disclosure of the security deposit.
At the termination of the lease agreement, if the Landlord does not intend to impose a claim on the security deposit, the Landlord has 15 days to return the security deposit or 30 days to give the Tenant(s) written notice by certified mail of his or her intention to impose a claim on the deposit and the reason for imposing the claim. If the Landlord fails to give written notice within 30 days, the Landlord forfeits their right to impose a claim.
If you’re dealing with a security deposit issue with your landlord, the Law Office of Ryan S. Shipp, PLLC is here to help. Call us today at (561) 699-0399 for a free consultation or visit our Lantana, Florida office location.